[robotics-worldwide] CFP - ICARCV 2010 - Special session on Variable Structure Control Systems

Sui Yang Khoo sui.khoo at deakin.edu.au
Thu Mar 11 19:34:12 PST 2010

Special Session on Variable Structure Control Systems
Variable structure control systems (VSCS) are a class of nonlinear systems where the control law is deliberately changed or switched during the control process according to some defined rules which depend on the state of the system. This can force and then constrain the system state to lie within a neighbourhood of the switching function. There are two main advantages of introducing this additional complexity to the control law. First, the desired dynamic behaviour of the system can be guaranteed on the sliding manifold. Second, the closed-loop response becomes totally insensitive to a particular class of uncertainty and/or input disturbances, which makes the methodology an appropriate candidate for robust control. The concepts of VSCS have subsequently been utilized in the design of robust regulators, robotic manipulators, model-reference systems, adaptive control, tracking systems, observer, and most recently cooperative sliding control of multi-agent networks.
The primary goal of this special session is to assemble a collection of fundamental research results and illustrative application studies of variable structure control systems.  Papers presenting novel research in the emerging areas of VSCS such as higher order sliding mode control, discrete sliding mode, terminal sliding mode, cooperative sliding control, sliding mode observer, multiple-surface sliding mode, and time-varying sliding control are solicited.
Conference website: http://www.icarcv.org/2010/home.asp
Paper submissions: Please submit the title, abstract, and author's information to: sui.khoo at deakin.edu.au<mailto:sui.khoo at deakin.edu.au> by 31 March 2010.
Important dates:
Deadline for Abstract Submission: 31 March 2010
Full Paper Submission: 1 May 2010
Notification of Acceptance: 1 July 2010-03-12
Deadline for Camera Ready Manuscript Submission: 1 September 2010
Deadline for Authors' Registration: 1 September 2010

Session chairs:
Dr. Suiyang Khoo
School of Engineering,
Deakin University, Waurn Ponds Campus,
Geelong, VIC 3217, Australia
Email: sui.khoo at deakin.edu.au<mailto:sui.khoo at deakin.edu.au>
Professor Zhihong Man
Faculty of Engineering and Industrial Sciences
Swinburne University of Technology
PO Box 218
Hawthorn, VIC 3122, Australia
Email: zman at swin.edu.au<mailto:zman at swin.edu.au>

More information about the robotics-worldwide mailing list